Medicare is the federal health insurance program for people who are 65 or older, certain younger people with disabilities, and people with End-Stage Renal Disease (permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis or a transplant, sometimes called ESRD).

Different parts of Medicare cover specific services:

Medicare Part A – hospital insurance

Medicare Part B – medical insurance

Medicare Part C – Medicare Advantage plans

Medicare Part D – prescription drug coverage

Note: Medicare coverage overseas — anywhere other than the 50 states of the  U.S., the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Northern Mariana Islands — is limited. In most situations, Medicare will not pay for health care or supplies outside of the U.S.

Read more on Medicare coverage outside the United States